I Met Her . . .Mrs. Hearns (not her married name)


So much to catch up on from this past week.  First, I’m very proud to say, I finally met Ms. Hearns (maiden name).  She just turned 96 this past May 11th.  Her and her family used to live in the house!  She got married in the home when she was 16 years old and remembers having horses, cows, chickens, dogs and goats at the farm.  When I asked her if she’d like to take a tour of the property, she paused for a minute, blinked a couple of times and said, “Well, I suppose I could go a take a look around. I haven’t been in that place in years.”  She’s the oldest of three or four siblings and her son comes and checks on her everyday.  He helps her maintain a couple of properties she own on Vesta.  She lives adjacent to the big house and has lived in College Park for over 70 years.   

 Do you hear “documentary”?!?!?!  I do.   She said she has stacks and stacks of boxes of photos, but waved away the thought of having to go through all of them.  So, if there are any history buffs out there that want to help me get this project off the ground and help preserve Ms. Hearns stacks of photos, give me a call.  We need to come up with a preservation plan pronto!

FYI – Ms. Hearns was out mowing her lawn when I spotted her.   Hopefully I can get some photos of her later on this week.

Leave a Reply

